Home / News / Regular Sludge / SIXX:AM “This is Gonna Hurt” sells 25K+ units 1st week.

SIXX:AM “This is Gonna Hurt” sells 25K+ units 1st week.

SIXX:AM "This is gonna hurt" to sell 25,000+ units!


SIXX:AM left to right is Nikki Sixx, James Michael & Dj Ashba


"This Is Gonna Hurt", the sophomore album from SIXX: A.M. — the band consisting of members Nikki Sixx (also of MÖTLEY CRÜE), DJ Ashba (also of GUNS N’ ROSES) and James Michael — is likely to sell between 25,000 and 30,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release, according to industry web site Hits Daily Double. The estimate was based on one-day sales reports compiled after the record arrived in stores on May 3. The 11-track CD is a companion piece to Sixx’s "This Is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography And Life Through The Distorted Lens Of Nikki Sixx" book, a follow-up to his New York Times bestseller, "The Heroin Diaries".

Two days into its release, "This Is Gonna Hurt" remains in the Top 10 on iTunes during one of the most competitive release weeks of the year. The CD is also holding strong as the #1 Independent Rock Album.

After meeting over 3,000 fans in just two appearances, Nikki Sixx continues his East Coast book-signing tour in Washington, D.C. tonight at Barnes and Noble.

"This Is Gonna Hurt" is part photo, part journal — but all Nikki Sixx. It is a collection of compelling snapshots and stories that capture the rage, love, optimism, darkness, and determination that shape his work. Told with the raw authenticity that defined his New York Times bestseller "The Heroin Diaries", "This Is Gonna Hurt" chronicles Sixx’s experience, from references to his early years filled with toxic waste to his success with MÖTLEY CRÜE, his death from an OD and rebirth to his addictions to music, photography, and love along with the journey of photographing these images over the past couple of years.

The "This Is Gonna Hurt" album as a whole deals with many raw, human issues. Nikki talks about the CD as "pulling back the veil on your internal truth," saying, "We are who we are… Either poisonous and evil or honest and willing… Willing to make a difference… I haven’t led the life of a saint nor do I intend on it now." The album — produced entirely by James Michael with writing credits going to Sixx, Michael, Ashba and band friends John William Lowrey and Blair Daly — dives deep into meandering emotions through epic melodies. The resulting work is a deep, dark and intoxicatingly addictive mix of sounds and passion.


"This Is Gonna Hurt" album track listing:

01. This Is Gonna Hurt

02. Lies of the Beautiful People

03. Are You With Me

04. Live Forever

05. Sure Feels Right

06. Deadlihood

07. Smile

08. Help Is On the Way

09. Oh My God

10. Goodbye My Friends

11. Skin

Songwriting credits:

* This is Gonna Hurt (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

* Lies Of The Beautiful People (Michael, Sixx, John William Lowrey, Ashba)

* Live Forever (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

* Are You With Me Now (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

* Sure Feels Right (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

* Deadlihood (Michael, Sixx, Blair Daly)

* Smile (Michael, Sixx)

* Oh My God (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

* Goodbye Dear Friends (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

* Skin (Michael, Blair Daly)

* Help Is On The Way (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

Expect SIXX: A.M. to announce a run of tour dates in support of the release.

Metal Sludge


About Administrator